Welcome Guest Blogger, Clever Little Buttons: A Satchel Style Collage You Don’t Want to Miss!

This Guest Blog Entry is Courtesy of one of our Most Admired ‘Blogs We Love’ Authors,

Caz of Clever Little Buttons.

(Thanks again, C! These ensembles are incredible, can’t wait to do this again. xo-Alex)

Please check out the Clever Little Buttons Fashion Blog at http://www.cleverlittlebuttons.co.uk/

To Stand the Test of Time

I don’t know about you, but as a freelance writer I struggle to work from home. There are so many distractions that eventually end up pushing me to leave the house. This is when I hit a problem; as a writer I need all my things with me, books, magazines, laptop, it all has to come! Now I’m a vintage girl, always have been and always will be! I Love anything that has a story and history behind it, pushing it forward. So when contemplating this problem I decided to use this post to highlight the perfect bag, that is versatile, chic and the longest lasting style of bag in history.

All Herald the Satchel!

The Story
When I was six I got my first satchel, to use for school! It was brown leather and I covered it with stickers and embellishments, creating a rather artistic mess! Although it may have been a mistake to ruin the leather with stickers, it was my prized possession, and lasted me through to high school! My passion for a sturdy satchel has never left me, so when I decided to dedicate this post to the humble satchel I wanted to know more about its history. Here is the short version, but I think it may surprise you!
The satchel was first reported as being a functional accessory as far back as the Romans!

Oh yes that is correct, and they didn’t even look all that far removed from today’s designs! They were used for carrying food and survival kits by the Legionnaires, now that’s what I call a solid grounding in history! It wasn’t until the 17th Century that the Satchel began to be a fashion statement for men and women, this was the birth of the man bag! They were used by gentry and towns people alike, and were at one point the most common design of accessory.

Classic Satchel

In the 1940’s the satchel was known as the ‘evacuee bag’ as it’s where all your papers were kept, and this drove the bag towards its most well-known era, as the school bag – very geek chic!  This has not ended and today the shape and styles hold predominantly true to the original, with two fastening straps and a multitude on inner pockets, perfect for all! This season has seen the arrival of new, brighter and bolder satchels from all corners of the fashion world, from Mulberry to Primark, the colour block satchel is back!

Back!

Mulberry Satchel
The Colour Block

guest 2

So, whilst deliberating how I wear my satchels, I realised that I have two staple versions that give me a very differing look and feeling when I wear them! The first is my colour blocked satchel. It is the one that I wear when I am happy, confident and loud – I’m sure we all have something in our wardrobes that represents those days!
So I proceeded to pull everything out of my wardrobe and devise my perfect look, this is the outcome!
I have started with the amazing foundation of this beautiful, lilac satchel from Cambridge Satchel! This to me is a workable combination of S/S 2011 and the timeless, vintage shape – perfection! This bag is big enough for me to store all my stuff, and trust me there is a lot of stuff! I have a habit of never emptying my bags so they usually just fill up with rubbish, this bag will give me enough room to store my belongings and keep everything neat and tidy – finally there’s a method to my madness! Now, as a curvy girl I find long shoulder straps troublesome if they hit my hips, as it only widens them, this bag has adjustable straps, so that I can bring it up to my waist.
For an overall look I have chosen to style this bag towards a Geek Chic look. I have started with this belted, Ballerina skirt from my ever faithful Warehouse! The colour of this skirt works wonderfully with the bag and it’s quirky enough to ooze style. To complement the skirt I have added a plain white, sheer blouse from The Outnet, no geek look is complete without a pussy bow blouse!
This look is all about the accessories so I chose to start with these ankle socks and brogues both from TopShop. These are great for taller girls, but girls like me who were not blessed with long legs, swap these for wedges! Finally add in Geek glasses from Glassesshop.com and a classic Nixon watch, we all remember these in the 80’s! My nails are the completion of this running theme, I have chosen this slightly clashing shade from OPI.

The Hippy

guest blog

My other satchel staple is a vintage embroidered number that has been with me for over 10 years! It never goes out of fashion and is still practical – the perfect blend! When I use this bag I feel ethereal and earthy, it puts me back on the ground and celebrates my love of Mother Nature. So here is a similar bag, that I have found, that I feel will give you the same feeling!
This amazing and different example of the Satchel from TopShop, is not only a great example of the current 70’s trend but also a great staple that will last for years to come. Firstly I love the shape of this bag, it has a slightly Swedish feel to it that I simply adore. The floral printed leather is also chic and simple, it is noticeable but also adds textures – this can only add value to this investment!
As this is a smaller version, I can wear this at a longer length, it won’t hit my hips as badly as the larger version, and this would work great as a cross over.
I have styled this bag with a typical outfit that I would wear with mine, so I wanted to start with this seasons favourite Palazzo pant also from TopShop. The colour of these trousers are perfect for me, they ooze femininity and playfulness. These are also great for all sizes – yey! I have teamed these with this amazing denim number from
Miss Selfridge. To complete the look I have styled with these wedges from Sam Edelman, Miss Dior perfume, sweet and light like the outfit and necklace also from Miss Selfridge.

Go and invest in a Satchel this season, not only are you  investing in history but you are also grabbing a staple that will last through your history!

To my dear Alex,

Thank you for the opportunity to blog with you – it has been so much fun!
Your support means the world to me!

Love from your friend across the pond,

Clever Little Caz x


  1. This was so much fun C! x

Your Thoughts:

